In the 4th century, The Holy Roman Emperor gained the title of the subordinate of Jesus Christ. However, he allotted himself as the primary soul among the Catholic monarchs too. To be very precise The Holy Roman Emperor was only notable and proficient because of his armies and federations.

Moreover, the assimilation of the Germanic and Italian monarchs gave rise to The Holy Roman Emperor and subsequently The Holy Roman Empire. This dynasty acquired a better establishment and clenched, under the shadow of the crowned king named Otto I.

The article is jotted down to furnish the audience with an elaborate picture of the royal lifestyle of The Holy Roman Emperor. As the blog will proceed the readers will get to know about the sovereigns under the Roman Empire.

Dynasties Between 962 – 1137

The first ever dynasty under The Holy Roman Empire was the Ottonian dynasty. The preceding dynasties after this are much related to Otto I. However, Otto I, the Great laid the first stone of the Ottonian dynasty in 912 and it ended in 973. Nonetheless, Otto II, the Red, Henry II, and so on took ahead the legacy of Otto I.

Along with the Ottonian dynasty within the era from 962 to 1137, the Salian dynasty and Supplinburg dynasty were also there. Conrad II, the Elder m founded the Salian dynasty and was the great-grandson of Otto I. Likewise, the Supplinburg dynasty is one that was much related to the inheritor dynasty of the Ottonian dynasty because of the Supplinburg dynasty. He was the great-great-great-great-great-great-grandnephew of Otto I.

Dynasties Between 1155 – 1250

This period shows several events in the Staufen dynasty and Welf dynasty.     Frederick I Barbarossa, the great-grandson of Henry IV, ruled the Staufen dynasty from 1155–1197.

However, from 1220 to 1250 the Staufen dynasty again came back into consideration with the help of Frederick II, Stupor Mundi. The span between the Staufen dynasties was the Welf dynasty which was headed by Otto IV.

Dynasties Between 1312 – 1437

After the death of Frederick II, none of his successors were crowned to control the empire. After him, Henry VII took the charge and was the descendant of Charles II. He ruled the House of Luxembourg from 1312 to 1313.

A descendant of Otto II, Louis IV took over the empire from 1314 to 1347. However, from 1346 to 1437 emperors simultaneously ruled the holy empire. At first Charles IV, Grandson of Henry VII, and then Sigismund, the son of Charles IV magnified his father’s legacy.

Dynasties Between 1440 – 1806

This eternity consists of several dominions like the House of Habsburg (1440–1740), the House of Wittelsbach (1742–1745), and the House of Lorraine (1745–1765), and the House of Habsburg-Lorraine (1765–1806).

Numerous successors of prior prominent dynasties put up with the charge of the Holy Roman Empire. The advent of this era started with the ordinance of Frederick III, the Second cousin of Albert II of Germany, and climaxed with the regime of Francis II, Son of Leopold II.


The above-mentioned period speaks about the prominence of how successors of the prior Holy Roman Emperors were crowned to broaden the heritage and mastership of the Holy Roman Empire. However, within this span, numerous evolution in their culture and decision has also come forward.

Previously, the Emperor of any dynasty acquired his power after his coronation in Rome by the Pope. But this was flipped by Pope Julius II in 1508. This helped Maximilian I to procure the designation of an Emperor.

Arthur Nordegren Cameron Family, Personal Life, Career, & More

Previous article

Successful Life of Gary Phillip Spector

Next article

You may also like